IITians who made it really big

admin Engineering, JEE Main, News 5 Comments

IITians have played a very important role in improving different technologies world over,here’s part of the list of IITians who made it really big and played vital role in their respective areas.

Ajit Jain Kharagpur 1972 President, Berkshire Hathaway Reinsurance Group
Anil K. Rajvanshi Kanpur 1972 Director, Nimbkar Agricultural Research Institute and winner of Jamnalal Bajaj Award 2001 and FICCI award 2002.
ANIL THADANI IIT-Madras 1968 Chairman, Schroder Capital Partners investment bank
Anurag Dikshit Delhi 1994 Co-Founder,Partygaming
Arjun Malhotra Kharagpur 1970 Co-founder, HCL Technologies
Arogyaswami Paulraj Delhi 1973 Professor, Stanford University
Arun Netravali Bombay 1967 President, Bell Labs, Chief Scientist, Lucent, US National Medal of Technology
Arun Sarin Kharagpur 1975 CEO of Vodafone
Arvind Kejriwal Kharagpur 1989 Indian social activist and crusader for greater transparency in Government. Winner of Ramon Magsaysay Emergent Leadership award in 2006
Arvind Raghunathan Madras 1984 Managing Director and Head of Global Arbitrage, Deutsche Bank
Ashok Soota Roorkee 1965 CEO and Founder of MindTree
Bharat Desai Bombay 1975 Chairman and CEO, Syntel
Chetan Bhagat Delhi 1995 Best-selling author of “Five Point Someone” and “One Night @ The Call Centre”
Debabrata Goswami Kanpur 1988 (M.Sc.) Scientist, famous for his “Adiabatic Quantum Computing” Work with Lasers; Wellcome Trust International Senior Research Fellow
DESH DESHPANDE IIT-Madras 1973 Founder, Cascade Communications
G. V. Loganathan Kanpur (M.Tech) 1978 Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Virginia Polytechnic Institute
Gunjan Sinha Delhi 1989 Chairman, Metricstream
Jairam Ramesh Bombay 1975 Member of Parliament, 2004
KANWAL REKHI IIT-Bombay 1967 Venture capitalist.Founder, boardmaker Excelan
Kirit Parikh Kharagpur (M. Tech.) 1957 Founder, IGIDR; Member, Planning Commission.
Krishna Bharat Madras 1982 Creator of Google News, Principal Scientist, Google
Lord Kumar Bhattacharyya Kharagpur 1960 Professor at the University of Warwick and advisor to Britain’s Prime Minister. Padma Bhushan (2002) and Knighthood (2003)
Madhu Sudan Delhi 1987 Nevanlinna Prize, 2002
Marti G Subrahmanyam Madras 1967 Charles E. Merrill Professor of Finance at Stern School of Business
Mani Lal Bhaumik Kharagpur (Ph.D) 1958 Physicist, contributed to early development of the excimer laser, honorary fellow of the American Physical Society and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, philanthropist and author.
Manindra Agarwal Kanpur 1986 Clay Research Award, 2002 ,Godel Prize, 2006
Manohar Parrikar Bombay 1978 Chief Minister, Goa
Mriganka Sur Kanpur 1974 Professor of Neuroscience, MIT
Muthuraman B. Madras 1966 Managing Director of Tata Steel
Narendra Karmarkar Bombay 1978 Polynomial time algorithm for LP problems, which is a leading breakthrough in Operations Research
Nandan Nilekani Bombay 1978 Co-founder and CEO of Infosys
Naveen Jain Roorkee 1979 CEO and Co-founder, Intelius
N.R. Narayana Murthy Kanpur (M Tech) 1969 Co-founder and Chairman of Infosys
Padmasree Warrior Delhi 1982 CTO, Motorola
Pradeep S Sindhu Kanpur 1974 Co-founder, Vice-President and CTO, Juniper Networks
Raghuram Rajan Delhi 1985 Economic Counsellor, IMF; Fischer Black prize
RAJ GUPTA IIT-Bombay 1967 CEO, chemical maker Rohm & Haas
Raj Kamal Jha Kharagpur 1987 Writer, famous for his Novel “The Blue Bedspread”
RAJAT GUPTA IIT-Delhi 1967 Managing Partner, McKinsey & Co.
Rajesh Jain Bombay 1984 MD, Netcore Solutions, Founder, IndiaWorld
Rajinder Singh Madras 1967 Noted spiritual leader and winner of Colombia’s highest award medal of golden cross.
RAKESH GANGWAL IIT-Kanpur 1975 CEO and President, US Airways
Ramanathan V. Guha Madras 1989 Invented RSS
Ramani Ayer Bombay 1969 CEO of The Hartford
Ramesh Agarwal Bombay 1968 IBM Fellow, T.J. Watson Research Center IBM
ROMESH WADHWANI IIT-Bombay 1969 CEO, founder, Aspect Development
Sundar Pichai Kharagpur 1993 Senior VP, Google
SHAILESH MEHTA IIT-Bombay 1971 Chairman, CEO, Providian Financial
Shrinivas Kulkarni Delhi (M.Sc) 1978 Astrophysicist, professor at Caltech
Srikumar Banerjee Kharagpur 1967 Director, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, (BARC), Trombay
Subrah Iyar Bombay ? CEO WebEx Communications
SUHAS PATIL IIT-Kharagpur 1965 Founder, chip designer Cirrus Logic
UMANG GUPTA IIT-Kanpur 1971 Founder, Gupta Corp. and Keynote Systems
VENKY HARINARAYAN, RAKESH MATHUR, ANAND RAJARAMAN, ASHISH GUPTA IIT-Madras,Bombay, Kanpur 1978-1993 Cofounders, internet browser Junglee.com
VICTOR J. MENEZES IIT-Bombay 1970 Co-CEO, Corporate & Investment Banking, Citigroup
Vikrant Bhargava Delhi 1994 Co-Founder,Partygaming
VINOD GUPTA IIT-Kharagpur 1967 Founder, database American Business Information
VINOD KHOSLA IIT-Delhi 1976 Partner, Kleiner Perkins. Co-founder, Sun Microsystems
V. C. Kulandaiswamy Kharagpur (M. Tech.) 1956 Padma Shri (1992) and Padma Bhushan (2002)
  • ShivamKesharwani

    @i think coaching classes are not a big problum