• Written By Manish Chandra Srivastava
  • Last Modified 11-08-2022

CBSE Class 6 Social Science Syllabus 2022-23


CBSE syllabus for Class 6 Social Science: The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) follows a central syllabus all over India for its students. Embibe experts have created the syllabus for class 6 social science according to the latest education demands. The syllabus contains detailed information about the subjects.

Class 6 Social Science is divided into three sections: History, Geography, and Civics (Social and Political Life). Students can directly download the PDF from this article. It will help them to gain more knowledge about the topics that are most likely to appear in the exam. Students can download the CBSE syllabus for class 6 social science and political life, CBSE Class 6 Social Science syllabus and textbooks in PDF format from this article.

CBSE Syllabus for Class 6 Social Science 2022-23: Chapter-wise Breakdown

The Social Science subject is divided into three major sections. Each section is designed to make sure that the student gets a basic awareness of the modern lifestyle and the previous ones as well. The History section of the subject begins with the introduction of the ancient people and their life at that time.

On the other hand, Geography starts with the introduction of the theories of the birth of Earth and the Solar System. Social and Political Life focuses on various modern cultures, religions, and democracy.

HistoryGeographySocial and Political Life
What, Where, How, and When?The Earth in the Solar SystemUnderstanding Diversity
On the trail of the earliest peopleGlobe: Latitudes and LongitudesDiversity and Discrimination
From gathering to growing foodMotions of the EarthWhat is Government?
In the earliest citiesMapsKey elements of a Democratic Government
What books and burials tell us?Major Domains of the EarthPanchayati Raj
Kingdoms, Kings, and an early republicMajor Landforms of the EarthRural Administration
New questions and ideasOur Country- IndiaUrban Administration
Ashoka the emperorIndia- Climate, Vegetation, and WildlifeRural Livelihood
Vital Villages, thriving towns Urban Livelihood
Traders, Kings, and Pilgrims
New Empires and Kingdoms
Buildings, Paintings, and Books

CBSE Syllabus Class 6 Social Science: Section-wise Explanation

  • History: The history section starts with the study of various timelines and their specialties. The section specifies the concepts like Hunting, Agriculture, first cities etc. Then it comes to the study of the earliest men and their lifestyle. It throws some light on the weapons they had, their food sources and inventions etc. The other chapter talks about the ways which taught early men to grow their own food. And just like that, we travel through the times of the Kings, the time when manuscripts were written, students get to know about the story of Ashoka in detail. Students also get the idea about various infrastructure along with their history and the difference in the styles and the appearance.
  • Geography: As the name reflects, the section talks about the land and the planets. The study begins with the origin of the Solar System and planets. Then the next detailed topic will be based on the origin of Earth and its development to the origin of life. The section talks about the concepts of longitude and latitude to make you aware of the map reading tricks. You get to know about the motion and the speed of the Earth faced in its landforms in the comparison of various timelines. The subject talks about India in detail and focuses on the detailed study of its demographic factors and on the factors which make it a special country.
  • Social and Political Life: The Social and Political Life study is also known as Civics. The section begins with the study of the diversity of the cultures and the modern civilisations. Furthermore, students get the introduction of discrimination. Moreover, it talks about the government and its types. Then the administrations of the rural and urban areas become part of the syllabus of social studies.

The social science subject covers almost each and every part of civilisations and their types. The syllabus helps students in building a strong foundation for future studies. Also, it helps students in understanding the changes the societies and the cultures have faced with time. Furthermore, students can download the CBSE Class 6 Social Science syllabus in PDF format.

FAQs on CBSE Class 6 Social Science Syllabus

Q.1: The syllabus for NCERT Class 6 Social Science is divided into how many sections?
Students studying the Social Sciences for Class 6 will have three sections to study namely History, Geography, And Civics (Social and Political Life).

Q.2: Which topics are involved in the NCERT Class 6 Civics?
Civics talks about modern civilisation, diversity, government, discrimination, rural administration, urban livelihood, etc.

Q.3: What chapters are included in NCERT Class 6 Geography?
The chapters involved in the NCERT Class 6 Geography are, The Earth in the Solar System, Globe: Latitudes and Longitudes, Motions of the Earth, Maps, Major Domains of the Earth, Major Landforms of the Earth, Our Country: India, India: Climate, Vegetation and Wildlife.

Q.4: Why is Civics included in NCERT Class 6 syllabus?
NCERT has introduced Civics in class 6 so that students understand the concept of diversity. It helps students to focus and learn about various modern cultures, religions, and democracy.

Q.5: How many chapters are there in Social Science Book?
There are 29 chapters in total in the Social Science Book.

Adaptive Practice with Solutions To Help You Ace Important Topics for CBSE Class 6 Social Science