• Written By Gautam_K
  • Last Modified 11-04-2024

IAS Toppers: Previous Years


IAS Toppers: Being one among the IAS toppers is a matter of great pride. UPSC exams are considered to be one of the prestigious exams in India. On clearing UPSC, candidates will be offered Government positions according to their ranks. The preliminary exam is to be held on June 5, 2022. For the selected candidates, the mains will be conducted on September 16, 2022.

Embibe provides the best study materials for the UPSC preparation according to the requirements of the aspirants. Read along the article to find out more about UPSC topper 2021 list, UPSC topper 2022 criteria, and much more!

Latest: To Check the result of UPSC 2019 – Click here

UPSC Exam and IAS Toppers: Overview

UPSC civil services exam is one of the acclaimed exams and also considered to be the toughest in India. Every year, more than a million candidates appear for the IAS exam and wishes to clear the exam. However, only around 800 – 900 students clear the exam and out of them only the top 100 students are selected for Indian Administrative Services (IAS). You can appreciate the mettle of the successful students by understanding that only one out of a thousand appearing students crack the exam i.e a success ratio of 1/1000, and an average it takes 3 attempts to succeed in the exam.

UPSC Topper 2021 list

1 Shubham Kumar

2 Jagrati Awasthi

3 Ankita Jain

4 Yash Jaluka

5 Mamta Yadav

6 Meera K

7 Praveen Kumar

8 Jivani Karthik Nagjibhai

9 Apal Mishra

10 Satyam Gandhi

IAS toppers Overview: 2019

Being a topper in this exam does not just require luck but a strong dedication, perseverance to stick to your goals and constantly slogging year on year till you achieve the dream.

Some of those who have achieved this rare feat and have excelled in this exam are covered in this article.

UPSC has released the final result for 2019 Civil Services Exam. This year 829 students have been recommended for the civil services post. The category wise break up is given below:

ias category wise break up 2021

This year Pradeep Singh has topped the civil services exam followed by Jatin Kishore with AIR 2. Pratibha Verma is the topper among women with AIR 3. The list of top 10 students is given in the table below.

The list of Toppers for IAS 2019 exams is given below

1Pradeep Singh
2Jatin Kishore
3Pratibha Verma
4Himanshu Jain
5Jeydev C S
6Vishakha Yadav
7Ganesh Kumar Baskar
8Abhishek Saraf
9Ravi Jain
10Sanjita Mohapatra

List of IAS Toppers

Below we have given the tabular representation of the IAS toppers enlisting the names of the 1st rank holders. The list given below is year wise and also consist of the names of the respective state that the candidates belong to.

IAS Toppers – 1st rank holders (from 1972 to 2018)

Topper (1st rank holders)SateYear
Kanishka KatariaRajasthan2018
Anudeep DurishettyTelangana2017
Tina DabiDelhi2015
Ira SinghalDelhi2014
Gaurav AgrawalRajasthan2013
Haritha V KumarKerala2012
Shena AggarwalHaryana2011
S DivyadharsiniTamil Nadu2010
Shah FaesalJammu & Kashmir2009
Shubhra SaxenaUttar Pradesh2008
Adapa KarthikAndhra Pradesh2007
Mutyalaraju RevuAndhra Pradesh2006
Mona PruthiHaryana2005
S NagarajanTamil Nadu2004
Roopa MishraOdisha2003
Ankur GargPunjab2002
Alok Ranjan JhaBihar2001
Vijaylakshmi BidariKarnataka2000
Sorabh BabuUttar Pradesh1999
Bhawna GargPunjab1998
Devesh KumarBihar1997
Sunil Kumar BarnwalBihar1996
Iqbal DhaliwalTamil Nadu1995
Asutosh JindalDelhi1994
Srivatsa KrishnaKarnataka1993
Shri Anurag SrivastavaUttar Pradesh1992
Raju Narayana SwamyKerala1991
Lakshmi NarayanaAndhra Pradesh1990
Shashi Prakash GoyalUttar Pradesh1989
Prashant KumarBihar1988
Amir SubhaniBihar1987
Dr. Hrishikesh PandaOdisha1979
Javed UsmaniUttar Pradesh1977
Bhaskar BalakrishnanMaharashtra1974
Nirupama RaoKerala1973
Duvvuri SubbaraoAndra Pradesh1972

IAS Toppers in First Attempt

There are a rare few who attempts to take up UPSC civil services exam and make it to the top list of selected candidates in their vary first attempt. The below given list enlists the names of the students who managed to crack the IAS exam in their first attempt. 

IAS First Attempt Toppers (from 1999 to 2018)

Kanishak Kataria12018
Shreyans Kumat42018
Srushti Jayant Deshmukh52018
Koya Sree Harsha62017
Saumya Sharma92017
Dr. Neha Jain122017
Anmol Sher Singh Bedi22016
Saumya Pandey42016
Kothamasu Dinesh Kumar62016
Tina Dabi12015
Artika Shukla42015
Renu Raj22014
Saketa Raja Musinipally142014
Ananya Das162014
Ajay Kumar Dwivedi172014
C M Saikanth Varma182014
Aman Mittal202014
Bharti Dixit52013
Roman Saini182013
Amrutesh Aurangabadkar102011
Shah Faesal12009
Roopa Mishra12003
Ankur Garg12002
Sorabh Babu Maheshwari12000
Bhawna Garg11999

We hope that this information on IAS Toppers has helped you. You can write us an email at [email protected] or call 18002572961 (Toll-Free). We will be glad to help you.

Stay tuned to embibe.com for latest updates on IAS Toppers

Achieve Your Best With 3D Learning, Book Practice, Tests & Doubt Resolutions at Embibe