• Written By Saif_Ansari
  • Last Modified 16-02-2024

CBSE Class 5 English Syllabus


CBSE Class 5 English Syllabus: CBSE students can now access English Grammar for Class 5 CBSE Syllabus. The extensive 5th-class English Grammar syllabus helps students understand the expected questions in the final exam. It will also help them to practice the exercises regularly. Embibe has provided detailed Grammar for the Class 5 CBSE syllabus. Students can start learning and improving their language skills by familiarising themselves with the CBSE Class 5 English syllabus.

The Class 5 English syllabus is divided into two parts – Literature and English Language. This article has explained the list of chapters, topics, and concepts included in each section of the Class 5 CBSE English syllabus. Read on to find out the detailed CBSE 5th class syllabus in English.

CBSE Class 5 English Syllabus

As discussed earlier, the CBSE Class 5 syllabus of English is divided into 2 sections – Literature and Language. Here is an overview of the syllabus for class 5 according to the 2023-24 CBSE pattern:

Unit 1

  • Ice Cream Man
  • Wonderful Waste!

Unit 2

  • Teamwork
  • Flying Together

Unit 3

  • My Shadow
  • Robinson Crusoe Discovers a Footprint

Unit 4

  • Crying
  • My Elder Brother

Unit 5

  • The Lazy Frog
  • Rip Van Winkle

Unit 6

  • Class Discussion
  • The Talkative Barber

Unit 7

  • Topsy-turvy Land
  • Gulliver’s Travels 

Unit 8

  • Nobody’s Friend
  • The Little Bully

Unit 9

  • Sing a Song of People

Unit 10

  • Malu-Bhalu
  • Who will be Ningthou?

English Grammar Syllabus for CBSE Class 5

The syllabus for English grammar for class 5 is as follows:

  • Word Formation
  • Antonyms
  • Synonyms
  • Rhyming Words
  • Suffix and Prefix
  • Homonyms
  • Homophones
  • Wh- Questions
  • Contractions
  • Vocabulary Building
  • Determiners
  • Nouns
  • Pronouns
  • Verbs
  • Adverbs
  • Adjectives
  • Degrees of Comparison
  • Conjunctions
  • Prepositions
  • Punctuation Marks
  • The Gerund
  • The Participle
  • Infinitives
  • Mood
  • Modals
  • Types of Sentences
  • Jumbled Sentences
  • Clauses
  • Case
  • Subject-Verb Agreement
  • Tenses
  • Use of Do and Does
  • Similes
  • Proverbs
  • Idioms and Phrases
  • Alliteration
  • Speech
  • Question and Answers
  • Story Completion
  • Report Writing
  • Writing Skills
  • Essay Writing
  • Letter Writing – Formal and Informal
  • Comprehension
  • Diary Entry
  • Notice Writing
  • Paragraph Writing
  • Messages

FAQs on CBSE Class 5 English Syllabus

Q: How many units are in the CBSE Class 5 English Literature syllabus?

Ans: In CBSE Class 5 English Literature, 10 units are present in the syllabus.

Q: Where can I download CBSE Class 5 English syllabus?

Ans: All the chapter-wise PDF is available on Embibe to download.

Q: What is the name of the CBSE Class 5 English book?

Ans: As per NCERT, the name of the Class 5 English is Marigold.

Q: How many sections are there in CBSE Class 5 English syllabus?

Ans: There are 4 sections in CBSE Class 5 English syllabus:
Section A – Reading
Section B – Writing
Section C – Grammar
Section D – Literature

Q: How many chapters are there in CBSE Class 5 English Grammar Book PDF?

Ans: There are various chapters in the CBSE Class 5 English Grammar book.

We hope this article on CBSE Class 5 English syllabus has been helpful to you. Please let us know if you still have questions through the EMBIBE student app.

Achieve Your Best With 3D Learning, Book Practice, Tests & Doubt Resolutions at Embibe