• Written By Shayan Patra
  • Last Modified 04-10-2022

SSC CGL Selection Process 2022: Check Revised Selection Process


SSC CGL Selection Process 2022: The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) conducts the SSC CGL exam for the recruitment of Grade “B” and “C” category posts in various Government Ministries, Departments, and Offices. The SSC CGL Notification was released on September 17, 2022, on the official website. The Commission has revised the SSC CGL Exam Pattern and Selection Process.

Take Free SSC CGL Mock TestsTake Free SSC CGL Mock Tests
SSC CGL Tier 1 Mock Test – 1SSC CGL Tier 1 Mock Test – 3
SSC CGL Tier 1 Mock Test – 2SSC CGL Tier 1 Mock Test – 4

**Steps to attempt free mock tests are mentioned below in this article.

The SSC CGL selection process consists of two tiers namely Tier 1 and Tier 2. These are computer-based exams. Candidates have to qualify in all tiers to get selected for various posts under SSC CGL. The minimum qualifying marks for Tier 1, and each Paper of Tier 2 exam are as follows UR: 30%, OBC/ EWS: 25% and others: 20%. Scroll down to know more about the SSC CGL Selection Process 2022.

– September 17, 2022: SSC has released the official notification and activated the registration link for CGL 2022 exam. Download the SSC CGL Notification 2022 PDF.

SSC CGL Selection Process 2022

Let us have an overview of the SSC CGL 2022 before getting into the details of the selection process:

Exam NameSSC CGL
SSC CGL Full FormStaff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level
Exam Conducting BodyStaff Selection Commission (SSC)
Exam LevelNational level 
Duration of Exam Tier 1: 60 minutes
Tier 2:
Paper 1- 75 minutes
Paper 2 -120 minutes
Paper 3 -120 minutes
Exam FrequencyOnce a year
Exam ModeOnline and offline
Exam Purpose Selection of candidates for Group B and C posts in ministries /departments /organizations of the government of India
Exam LanguageEnglish and Hindi
Official Websitessc.nic.in

SSC CGL Selection Process 2022 (Revised)

Candidates appearing or aspiring for SSC CGL must go through the selection process. Knowing the selection process will help them in their exam preparation. They can get to know about the various stages involved in recruitment. The SSC CGL selection procedure consists of the following two stages:

  • Tier 1 – Computer-based Examination
  • Tier 2 – Computer-based Examination

Candidates have to clear Tier 1 to qualify for the Tier 2 exam. SSC releases the Tier 1 exam result, and candidates who make it to the merit list are eligible to appear for Tier 2. Continue to read the article to get in-depth details about all the Tiers.

SSC CGL Selection Tier 1

Tier 1 is the first stage of the SSC CGL procedure. SSC CGL Tier 1 is a computer-based exam that consists of multiple-choice questions. The exam contains four subjects or sections: General Intelligence and Reasoning, General Awareness, Quantitative Aptitude, and English Comprehension. Furthermore, the Tier 1 question paper contains 100 questions with 200 marks. The overall duration of the exam is 60 minutes.

SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam Pattern

Check the exam pattern of SSC CGL Tier 1 below:

Sections & SubjectsNumber of QuestionsMaximum Marks
Section A: General Intelligence and Reasoning2550 marks
Section B: General Awareness2550 marks
Section C: Quantitative Aptitude2550 marks
Section D: English Comprehension2550 marks
Total100200 marks

Steps To Take Free SSC CGL Mock Test

Access unlimited free SSC CGL Tier 1/2 mock tests at Embibe and boost your confidence to face the examination. Follow the below-mentioned steps to take the free mock test series:

  • 1st Step: Visit Embibe’s official website, i.e., Embibe.
  • 2nd Step: Use your mobile number/email to log in.
  • 3rd Step: Select your Goal as ‘SSC’ under the government job section.
  • 4th Step: Click Next and select ‘SSC CGL Tier 1/Tier 2’.
  • 5th Step: Click Next and select your preferred language.
  • 6th Step: Once done, you can practice questions and take free mock tests.

SSC CGL Selection Tier 2

SSC CGL Tier 2 is also a computer-based exam that contains objective-type multiple-choice questions. The SSC CGL Tier 2 exam will be conducted in 3 phases- Paper 1, Paper 2, and Paper 3. Paper I (Mandatory for all posts) and Paper II for candidates who apply for the posts of Junior Statistical Officer in the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation. While Paper III is for candidates who apply for the posts of Assistant Audit Officer/ Assistant Accounts Officer.

SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam Pattern

Find the exam pattern of SSC CGL Tier 2 from the table below:



No. of Question




Paper I

Section I:

Module I: Mathematical

Module I: Reasoning and General Intelligence




Total= 60

60*3= 180

1 hour (for each section)

1 hour and 20 minutes for the candidates eligible for scribe

Section II: 

Module I: English Language and Comprehension

Module II: General Awareness




Total =70

70* 3= 210

Section III: 

Module I: Computer Knowledge Module



20*3 =60

15 Minutes (for each module)

20 minutes for the candidates eligible for scribe

Section III-

Module II- Data Entry Speed Test Module

One Data

Entry Task


Paper II



100*2= 200

2 hours

2 hours and 40 minutes for the candidates eligible for scribe

Paper III

General Studies (Finance and Economics)


100*2= 200

2 hours

2 hours and 40 minutes for the candidates eligible for scribe

Also check:

SSC CGL RecruitmentSSC CGL Exam Dates
SSC CGL Application FormSSC CGL Salary
SSC CGL SyllabusSSC CGL Exam Pattern
SSC CGL PreparationSSC CGL Exam Analysis
SSC CGL BooksSSC CGL Question Papers
SSC CGL ResultSSC CGL Cut-off
SSC CGL Tier 1SSC CGL Tier 2

FAQs on SSC CGL Selection

Find some of the commonly asked questions about the SSC CGL procedure below:

Q.1: How many papers are there in the SSC CGL Tier 2?

Ans: There are three papers (Paper-I, Paper-II and Paper-III) in SC CGL Tier 2.

Q.2: What is the selection process for SSC CGL 2022 recruitment?

Ans: As per the revised selection process, the Staff Selection Commission will be conducting SSC CGL 2022 Exam in two stages: Tier 1 and Tier 2. 

Q.3: Is qualifying in the SSC CGL 2022 Tier 1 necessary to appear for Tier 2?

Ans: Yes, candidates have to clear the Tier 1 exam to appear for the Tier 2 computer-based exam.

Q.4: Is the SSC CGL 2022 exam pattern changed?

Ans: Yes, the exam pattern for SSC CGL has been revised as per the SSC CGL Notification 2022.

Q.5: Is there any negative marking for SSC CGL 2022?

Ans: There is a negative marking of 0.25 for every wrong answer in the SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam and 1 mark in the Tier 2 Exam.

We hope this detailed article on SSC CGL Selection Process 2022 helps you. Feel free to check our website or download our app if you have any queries.

Stay tuned to embibe.com for the latest news and updates on SSC CGL!

Attempt Free Mock Test & Practice SSC CGL Questions with Hints & Solutions