• Written By anjalya
  • Last Modified 13-07-2022

CBSE Class 6 Social Science: Subject-wise Syllabus


CBSE Class 6 Social Science Subjects: For CBSE class 6 students, Social Science is an important subject that covers the historical and geographical events in India, and the world as a whole. The CBSE class 6 Social Science subject includes History, Geography, and Political Science and the class 6 NCERT syllabus is split into three separate sections in three books. Learning each of these subjects is crucial as these will form a part of the curriculum till class 10. 

Everything a student learns in class six will serve as a foundation for their further studies. Additionally, from the perspective of the exam, these subjects are relatively high scoring. If the student knows how to respond to the questions from these subjects, they can achieve very good marks, which will raise their overall grade. Hence, In this article, we’ve briefed about the CBSE class 6 Social Science subjects. Read on.

CBSE Class 6 Social Science Subjects: An Overview

Before moving to the detailed explanation on each subject covered in 6th standard CBSE Social Science, take a look at the brief overview of the textbook. 

BoardCentral Board of Secondary Education
SubjectSocial Science
Sub-subjectsHistory, Geography, Politics.
Total No. of ChaptersHistory – 11, Geography – 8, Civics – 9

CBSE Social Studies Class 6: Subjects Covered

The History, Geography, Civics subjects that come under CBSE 6th class Social Science give students a broad overview of historical occurrences within a framework and in relation to aspects like geography, social dynamics, and politics. To help them comprehend history better, the textbook also includes themes like ancient civilizations and world civilizations. Given below are the chapters included in these three books: 

CBSE Class 6 History Chapters

There are 11 chapters in the NCERT Class 6 History – Our Past I textbook. The chapters detail the evolution of both humans and animals throughout human history. Below is the list of chapters that are covered in the book. 

  • Chapter 1 – What, Where, How And When?
  • Chapter 2 – From Hunting – Gathering To Growing Food
  • Chapter 3 – In The Earliest Cities
  • Chapter 4 – What Books And Burials Tell Us
  • Chapter 5 – Kingdoms, Kings And An Early Republic
  • Chapter 6 – New Questions And Ideas
  • Chapter 7 – Ashoka, The Emperor Who Gave Up War
  • Chapter 8 – Vital Villages, Thriving Towns
  • Chapter 9 – Traders, Kings And Pilgrims
  • Chapter 10 – New Empires And Kingdoms
  • Chapter 11 – Buildings, Paintings And Books

CBSE Class 6 Political Science Chapters

The Civics – Social and Political Life – I textbook for NCERT Class 6 provides an engaging overview of current events and the social and political structure. Here’s a list that includes all the chapters covered in the book.

  • Chapter 1 – Understanding Diversity
  • Chapter 2 – Diversity and Discrimination
  • Chapter 3 – What is Government?
  • Chapter 4 – Key Elements of a Democratic Government
  • Chapter 5 – Panchayati Raj
  • Chapter 6 – Rural Administration
  • Chapter 7 – Urban Administration
  • Chapter 8 – Rural Livelihoods
  • Chapter 9 – Urban Livelihoods

CBSE Class 6 Geography Chapters

There are eight chapters in the sixth-grade NCERT Geography textbook, The Earth, Our Habitat. Students learn about the solar system, world atlases, climatic conditions, etc. through this book. Students need to pay attention and focus on this subject because doing so will help them get better grades. Let’s have a look at the table below that lists the chapters:

  • Chapter 1 – The Earth in the Solar System
  • Chapter 2 – Globe: Latitudes and Longitudes
  • Chapter 3 – Motions of the Earth
  • Chapter 4 – Maps
  • Chapter 5 – Major Domains of the Earth
  • Chapter 6 – Major Landforms of the Earth
  • Chapter 7 – Our Country: India
  • Chapter 8 – India: Climate, Vegetation and Wildlife

Class 6 CBSE Social Science Subject-wise Explanation

Given below is the subject-wise explanation for CBSE class 6 Social Science.

  • History: The study of different timelines and their specific time periods is the first section in the history section. The section explains about primitive ideas such as hunting, agriculture, and the foundation of cities, among others. Besides, the chapters in the book also cover the details regarding  investigation of the lifestyles that the early man followed. It provides some insight into their weaponry, food system, and other inventions, among other things. As the students move forward to other chapters, they’ll learn the methods that helped early man discover how to grow their own food. Then, the chapters move on to covers the era of the Kings, the era of manuscript writing, etc., and the life history of Ashoka too, among other historical events. 
  • Geography – The subject of geography discusses the earth and the planets, as its name suggests. The history of the solar system and its planets is covered in the first chapter. The history of Earth’s formation and the emergence of life on it will thereafter be the subject of the next in-depth section. In order to help students become familiar with the methods of map reading, the section discusses the ideas of longitude and latitude. In the comparison of multiple timelines, students learn about the velocity and speed that the Earth experienced in its landscapes. The topic discusses India in-depth and concentrates on the in-depth analysis of its demographic variables and the elements that distinguish it as a unique nation.
  • Civics: Civics is another name for the study of social and political life. In this subject, the students will learn about the diversity of cultures and contemporary civilisations, and then  about discrimination. Additionally, it discusses the Government and its various forms. Then, the administrations of the rural and urban areas are also covered in the CBSE class 6 Political Science.

Now, the students must have gotten an idea of what CBSE Social Studies class 6 subject encompasses. The books cover nearly every aspect of civilisation and its varieties. Students can build a strong foundation for their future classes provided they learn the concepts of class 8 well. Additionally, it aids the students in comprehending the changes that communities and cultures have through over time.

FAQs on CBSE Class 6 Social Science Subjects

Q.1: How many chapters are covered in class 6 CBSE Social Science History section?
Ans: The History portion of class 6 CBSE Social Science contains 12 chapters.

Q.2: How many sections are there in the NCERT Class 6 Social Science curriculum?
Ans: The three sections that students who study the social sciences in Class 6 will learn are history, geography, and civics (Social and Political Life).

Q.3: What subjects are included in the CBSE class 6 Political Science textbook?
Ans: Civic discusses issues like contemporary civilisation, diversity, the government, prejudice, rural administration, urban livelihood, etc.

Q.4: In how many languages are the class 6 textbooks for Social Science available?
Ans: History, civics, and geography NCERT textbooks are accessible in English, Hindi, and Urdu.

Q.5: What are the titles of class six Social Science textbooks?
Ans: The books for CBSE Class 6 in Social Science are listed as follows:

  • History – Our Pasts – I 
  • Civics – Social and Political Life – I 
  • Geography – The Earth – Our Habitat

Achieve Your Best With 3D Learning, Book Practice, Tests & Doubt Resolutions at Embibe